So Worth It

I love Betty Duffy. I’ve never met her and couldn’t pick her out of a line up. But regarding Betty Duffy, I sin against the 10th Commandment.

I don’t covet her maidservant. I don’t covet her ox or ass, either, for that matter. But when I read her blog I say “Woah Nelly. Why can’t I write like that?”  She’s brilliant.

She’s done us a big favor by linking to a fabulous blog. Now this blog ain’t pretty. And this post is going to take a little time to read through.

So worth it.

“I show my sorrow by changing my life. I show I care by changing my life.”

There are too many treasures in this post to quote further. I think for my part, I’m going to read it every day for awhile, so as to, as the author says;

Write this in blood, on your heart:

To be a witness does not consist in engaging in propaganda or even in stirring people up, but in being a living mystery; it means to live in such a way that one’s life would not make sense if God does not exist” – Cardinal Emmanuel Celestin Suhard, Archbishop of Paris 1940-1949

So head over to Betty Duffy, and follow her link to Heather King at “Shirt of Flame”

So worth it.

Enough already.

4 responses to “So Worth It

  1. One of my favorite lines:

    “The spiritual path doesn’t consist, in other words, in pointing out to others the ways they might be contributing to the suffering of the world, but in searching out the ways I am.”

    Thanks for the suggestion. I’ve never read her stuff.

    • Glad you liked it – and the line you picked is a favorite of mine, too. As long as I look to Jesus for comparison,I find I have plenty to work on in myself. Plenty!

  2. Love this!
    And really? You don’t covet her maidservant?

Leave a Reply

